You have cancer!

On 20th November 2013, I walked into Late Professor Hassan’s m,edical office at the Aga Khan University Hospital, Nairobi ;to collect the results of a colonoscopy that had been done 2 weeks earlier. The camera had found an obstruction and a conclusion drawn that there was a growth. As expected, a sample was obtained to test whether the growth was Benign – Benign refers to a condition, tumor, or growth that is not cancerous.

We exchanged pleasantries with the good Surgeon.

 And after a while the Surgeon dropped the three most dreaded words : You have Cancer !…. this time, of the colon!

It sounded like a death warrant!

For a moment I was speechless, but when I recollected myself, the thought that came to my mind was the planned December Christmas break with the entire Mbugua, my father, family. And quickly thought how that would be a great moment to spend the best of my life with the family.

Since An immediate surgery needed to be done to get the growth out and do the confirmatory tests! ,the question that came to mind was :

Will I die if the surgery was delayed until January 2014, since I needed to enjoy the Christmas break with the family, even if it was going to be my last?

The good Professor laughed and declared that he was not in apposition to act God in this circumstance! but I could take a risk and hope that nothing happens – it was entirely upon you.

Crazy me took my chance and spent the best Christmas break with the whole family in Malindi, Kenya. This could have easily been the last Christmas for me on this side of heaven, so why not make the best of it.

I went back to the good Doctor on 14th of January 2014, after the beautiful break, ready for any eventuality. The doctor as expected requested for further investigations that involved a repeat colonoscopy to see how the growth was and hence prepare to perform the  surgery.

When the colonoscopy was done, Voila!!

The growth was gone!  Or so it seemed.

The doctor recommended that we go ahead and do the surgical work to establish what could have been the problem. He used Laparoscopy – which is less invasive. The plan was to have a 3 hours max. Operation at the Aga Khan Hospital Nairobi.

This was not to be since I was on the operating table for more than seven hours – causing panic to all the family members.

Went to the theatre at 12noon and was wheeled to the bed ward at 800pm in the evening after being “resurrected”

The story is that when the good Professor went into my stomach he found that my entire ascending colon had collapsed – basically died – and was flabby. Hence the colonoscopy tool and camera was being blocked by this “flabby” colon and thus could go not go further. There was no medical explanation for this and especially he could not explain how I was able to pass stool through the large intestines in that state.

The good news is that after 21 days of hospitalization – couple of days of complete panic on my chances of getting out whole and not in a box, I went home.

… next story “ the hospitalization and near death experience”

About muthioramwathi

COO Create Growth Ltd Life coach and Motivational speaker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment